Preservation Awards

Preservation Awards


Nominations should be limited to projects completed within the last five years and located in Columbia and Richland County, and only completed projects will be considered. Preservation Award recipients will be recognized at an awards ceremony on May 3, 2017. Nomination forms are available HERE or by contacting Lois Carlisle at

Nomination deadline is Thursday, February 16, 2017.

Historic Columbia holds an annual Preservation Awards Luncheon each year to celebrate the accomplishments of local architectural, construction and rehabilitation projects and leaders. The awards recognize local projects that have maintained or added to the historical, architectural and cultural heritage throughout Columbia and Richland County in the following categories. In addition, HC often gives a Preservation Leadership Award to individuals who contribute to the advancement of historic preservation in the region.


Historically significant structures restored to their original design and function.

Recent recipients: 1013 Canterfield Road, 110 Wayne Street, Nickelodeon Theatre

Adaptive Use

Structures rehabilitated with sensitivity to the historic fabric that function in a way that is different from its original intent.

Recent recipients: The War Mouth, City Market Antique Mall, the Agape Complex on Main Street, the DuPre Building (809 Gervais)

New Construction in an Historic Context

New buildings in an historic district adjacent to or within existing historic structures that complement the historic context.

Recent recipients: 522 Lady Street, the South Carolina State Museum, Ernest F. Hollings Special Collections Library

Preservation Leadership

Nominations in this category will recognize an individual, corporation, governmental agency, community or neighborhood association that has contributed to the advancement of historic preservation in the region.

Recent recipients: Derek Gruner, Rosie Craig, First Citizens

Images of the 2016 Awards Luncheon

The Preservation Awards are presented by Mashburn Construction.

Preservation Award Winners