Histories, Pasts and Meanings

Following Celia Mann’s death in 1867, the property became a mark of achievement for her eldest daughter, Agnes Jackson, who between the mid-1870s and 1880s oversaw the construction of at least three new buildings, including the cottage-style house still standing today. Today, Jackson’s legacy is represented through the restored house, ghost structures of demolished buildings and interpretive signage. Together, these elements and this website work explore the site’s various histories, pasts and meanings.

View an interview with CeCe A. Byars, director and curator of the Mann-Simons Cottage from 1979 to 1986:

View a short documentary about archaeology at the Mann-Simons Site here:

Unless otherwise noted, all images are from the Historic Columbia Foundation Collection.