1726-1728 Main Street1728 Main Street
James Siokos, a member of Columbia’s Greek community, named this building for a mountainous area of central Greece. At the request of the Free Masons of Columbia, who operated Acacia Lodge No 94 at the site, Siokos named the building “Evrytania,” or “stronghold.” While the masons maintained their lodge auditorium upstairs, Siokos rented the building’s street level spaces to various entities. Among the tenants were the Southern Security Loan Company, the Independence Insurance Company, Sargent photography studios and the Junior Order of United American Mechanics.
Siokos’ building is another example of Columbia’s modest interest in Art Deco architecture that enjoyed international popularity during the 1920s through late 1930s. Like other examples seen on Main Street, such as the Kress building two blocks south, the Eurytania building features stylized floral capitals on its façade’s pilasters. When meshed with the ashlar, or cut stone, and Latin lettering for the building name, the result is a unique addition to Main Street that balances an interest in classical architecture with a nod to modern design trends current to the period in which the building was erected in 1938.