Go behind the scenes with Historic Columbia and explore this iconic landmark!
Constructed in 1820 and named for its original owner, Lowcountry planter Jesse Debruhl, the DeBruhl-Marshall House is similar in style to the Robert Mills House, although its architect remains unknown. Residences of this style typically featured temple-like front facades, resembling ancient Greek and Roman public architecture. This landmark property served briefly as headquarters for Confederate General Joseph Johnston and was set on fire during the burning of Columbia in February 1865, but escaped major damage.
This property has recently been renovated into an elite, environmentally friendly events venue. See for yourself by registering for our next behind-the-scenes tour!
“It’s really important for us to understand that historic houses don’t all need to turn into historic house museums. There are plenty of those in Columbia. There are plenty of those all around the state. Any time you can find a creative use for a historic place that allows the general public access, that’s a win.” — Robin Waites, Executive Director