Woman’s Club of Columbia

On May 15, 2018, Columbia lost a symbol of local history with the demolition of the Woman’s Club of Columbia. After standing for 77 years on the corner of Blossom and Henderson Streets, the Woman’s Club building faced demolition shortly after the Catholic Diocese of Charleston purchased the lot from the University of South Carolina (USC) Foundation. Erected in 1941, this venerable structure stood as a physical testament to generations of women’s activism that began during the Civil War and grew in intensity during the late 19th and early 20th centuries.