2601 Cypress Street
Many of Old Shandon's earliest residences reflect the Queen Anne style, which was popular at the turn of the 19th century. Built by a local developer in 1894 to spur interest in Shandon, this house was rented for many years by an artisan who taught stonemasonry at Epworth Orphanage. By 1910, grocer J.A. Platt owned the property that today stands as a tangible link to the neighborhood's earliest years.