804 Gervais Street804 Gervais Street
With its three 101-feet-high reinforced concrete grain elevators and red neon sign, Allen Brothers’ Adluh Flour Mill is one of the Vista’s most enduring and endearing landmarks. Completed in 1920 by the Adluh Milling Company, the elevators were the latest capital improvements undertaken by the Cooner family, who chartered the business in 1914. The site's oldest building, located at 804 Gervais Street, previously housed the W. H. Gibbes Machinery Co. and Carriage Works. The plant operated by Adluh Milling Co. closed in 1925. Following its purchase by the Allen Milling Company of North Carolina in 1926, it reopened as Allen Brothers Milling Company. During World War II, the company won government awards for its efficiency and massive production of “Table-Tested” flour, cornmeal, feeds and mixes. Today, the company is the last of 42 similar mills that once operated in South Carolina.